top of page
  • Writer's pictureWill Dobbs

5 Inuit Mythology research


The reference images I present are sourced from museum collections and eBay listings from the Internet. If it had not been for Covid restrictions, I would've been drawing firsthand from the collections that I am familiar with at Manchester Museum and at the Pitt Rivers museum. In the first year of my degree I would spend hours wandering around the exhibitions and drawing the artefacts that interested me. I found the eBay images the closest thing that I could come across that gave me a range of viewpoints similar to looking round all sides of the glass cabinets the photographs on eBay are taken in the hope of making a sale and it is interesting and in some cases strange and peculiar angles that I have really inspired me to make my drawings.


I have placed heavy emphasis on drawing the figurines and totems from strange and peculiar angles such as over the shoulder, from behind and from below.














11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page