top of page
  • Writer's pictureWill Dobbs

6 OBSERVATIONAL INK AND PENCIL DRAWINGS

Updated: May 27, 2021

(Below) are a set of dynamic, quick ink drawings using the carvings and totems as a visual reference from my research.

I have also drawn some more detailed and sensitive graphite stick and pencil drawings of the inuit relics and carvings. All of these drawings are on newsprint which serves as a perfect surface to draw on for ink as it allows a slight bleed and creates interesting and unique marks. And the smooth surface of the newsprint is perfect for pencil and graphite stick line - however once scanned in, the drawings lose their vibrancy and tonality so I need to adjust the levels and contrast significantly on photoshop.










JIM DINE: Drawings and Screenprints



(Below) More sensitive graphite stick and pencil drawings.


(Below) Dummy plan drawings to help plan composition for panel/totem characters to go on landscape.


I will make my own Totem structures that will be comprised from my ink and graphite stick/pencil drawings. These totem figures will be a key component in my final composition - serving as the ghostly spectral entities that roam the vast frozen landscapes.








(Below) By process of elimination, I have carefully selected my favourite totem structures (from the possibilities above) that I believe are the most visually striking and that have a great mix of interesting mark making. These will be the Totem structures that I will use in my final compositions.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page